Top coaches and celebs tee it up for $520,000 in scholarship and charity

A 13-team field of NCAA head coaches and celebrity alumni is set to compete in the ninth annual Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament. Top national coaches such as Urban Meyer, Nick Saban, Steve Spurrier and many others will hit the links, all vying for their share of $520,000 in scholarship and charity.

The nation’s premier head coach and celebrity golf event will be held April 26-28 at the Reynolds Plantation resort on Lake Oconee outside Atlanta. In the past eight years, the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge has provided $4.7 million in scholarship and charitable contributions.

The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge main event features pairings that include a university head coach and a celebrity or former athlete from the same school competing in a scramble format against other university teams from around the country. The tournament will be broadcast on ESPNU in August and December. Specific dates will be announced this summer.

The field of competitors for the featured round is scheduled to include two former winning teams including Paul Johnson and Jon Barry of Georgia Tech (2011, 2012, 2014), and Steve Spurrier and Sterling Sharpe from South Carolina (2008, 2009). Six of the participating coaches led their teams to New Year’s Six Bowl Games in the inaugural College Football Playoff last season, and three have won FBS National Championships.

The 13 university teams will be vying for the $125,000 first-place prize, with each team receiving a portion of the $520,000 purse. Charity payouts will be split equally between an endowed scholarship at each university and a charity of the coach’s choice.

The field of competitors for the featured event is scheduled to include: 

Team Coach Celebrity Alum All-time Winnings
Alabama Nick Saban Mark Ingram $163,333
Arizona Rich Rodriguez Kenny Lofton $50,000
Auburn Gus Malzahn Bo Jackson $70,000
Cincinnati Tommy Tuberville Kevin Huber $70,000
Clemson Dabo Swinney Steve Fuller $135,000
Georgia Tech (2011, 2012, 2014 Winners) Paul Johnson Jon Barry $582,500
Maryland Randy Edsall Scott McBrien $110,833
Mississippi State Dan Mullen Fred McCrary $140,000
North Carolina Larry Fedora Roy Williams $95,000
NC State  Dave Doeren  Terry Harvey  $105,000
Ohio State Urban Meyer Jeff Logan $50,000
Ole Miss Hugh Freeze Sean Tuohy $147,500
South Carolina (2008, 2009 Winners)  Steve Spurrier  Sterling Sharpe  $427,000