Top coaches and celebrities vie for $540,000 in scholarship and charity.

Greensboro, Ga. (April 13, 2016) A 13-team field of NCAA head coaches and celebrity alumni is set to compete in the ninth annual Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament. Top national coaches such as Nick Saban, Dabo Swinney and many others will hit the links, all vying for their share of $540,000 in scholarship and charity.

In special recognition of their coaching legacies, newly retired coaches Frank Beamer (Virginia Tech) and Steve Spurrier (South Carolina) will represent their former teams for the final time in this year’s event.

The nation’s premier head coach and celebrity golf event will be held May 1-3 at the Reynolds Lake Oconee resort outside Atlanta. In the past nine years, the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge has provided $5.3 million in scholarship and charitable contributions.

The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge main event features pairings that include a university head coach and a former athlete from the same school competing in a scramble format against other university teams from around the country. The event will be broadcast on ESPNU in August and December. Specific dates will be announced this summer.

The field of competitors is scheduled to include three former winning teams including Georgia Tech (2011, 2012, 2014, 2015), South Carolina (2008, 2009), and Virginia Tech (2007). Four of the participating coaches led their teams to New Year’s Six Bowl Games last season, including Nick Saban and Dabo Swinney, who faced off for the College Football Playoff National Championship. The field includes three Heisman Trophy winners, four Dodd Trophy winners, and two new teams from the University of Georgia and University of Houston.

The 13 university teams will be vying for the $100,000 first-place prize, with each team receiving a portion of the $540,000 purse. Charity payouts will be split equally between an endowed scholarship at each university and a charity of the coach’s choice.

The field of competitors for the featured event is scheduled to include:

Team Coach Celebrity Alum All-time Winnings
Alabama Nick Saban Chris Mohr $228,333
Auburn Gus Malzahn Bo Jackson $100,000
Cincinnati Tommy Tuberville J.K. Schaffer $90,000
Clemson Dabo Swinney Steve Fuller $155,000
Georgia Kirby Smart David Dukes New participant
Georgia Tech Paul Johnson Jon Barry $682,500
Houston Tom Herman Andre Ware New participant
Mississippi State Dan Mullen Fred McCrary $160,000
North Carolina Larry Fedora B.J. Surhoff $115,000
NC State Dave Doeren Terry Harvey $150,000
Ole Miss Hugh Freeze Wesley Walls $182,500
South Carolina Steve Spurrier Sterling Sharpe $477,000
Virginia Tech Frank Beamer Cam Young $355,000