Ole Miss cards five straight birdies to win second consecutive title.

Download photo and video highlights at CFAPBGolf.com/media/downloads

Greensboro, Ga. (May 2, 2017) – Team Ole Miss closed out with five straight birdies to win the 2017 Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge by two strokes today at the Reynolds Lake Oconee Resort outside Atlanta.

Head Coach Hugh Freeze and celebrity partner Wesley Walls carded a final score of -11 to win the $100,000 first-place prize and their second consecutive Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge. Team Florida finished second with a score of -9, while the teams from Georgia and N.C. State tied for third at -8.

“It was a gorgeous day and Wesley and I really played well together,” said Ole Miss Head Coach Hugh Freeze. “We really never got in trouble. If I hit a bad one, Wesley hit a good one and vice versa.”

“When you’re going down the stretch and you need a six-footer for a birdie, coach is the guy I want on my team,” said former Ole Miss tight end Wesley Walls.

The Ole Miss victory marks the fourth time in the event’s history where teams won the tournament in consecutive years.

“This has been a wonderful week of fellowship, golf and charity,” said Gary Stokan, president and CEO of Peach Bowl, Inc. “Congratulations to Ole Miss’ Hugh Freeze and Wesley Walls for taking home the title for the second year in a row. We’re honored to donate $100,000 to them for university scholarships and the Hugh and Jill Freeze Foundation.”

Final official results from the 2017 Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge including total charity and scholarship winnings:

1 Ole Miss (Hugh Freeze / Wesley Walls) -11 $100,000
2 Florida (Steve Spurrier, Shane Matthews) -9 $80,000
 3 (T) Georgia (Kirby Smart, David Dukes) -8 $65,000
 3 (T) N.C. State (Dave Doeren, Terry Harvey)   -8 $65,000 
5 Alabama (Nick Saban, Mark Ingram)        -7 $50,000 
Baylor (Jim Grobe, David Crowder)                          -6 $40,000 
7 (T)  TCU (Gary Patterson, LaDainian Tomlinson) -5 $27,500
7 (T) Virginia Tech (Justin Fuente, Dell Curry) -5 $27,500 
9 (T)  Auburn (Gus Malzahn, Al Del Greco)       -4 $25,000 
9 (T) Cincinnati (Tommy Tuberville, Brendon Kay) -4 $25,000 
11 (T) Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson, Jon Barry) -3  $22,500 
11 (T)  North Carolina (Larry Fedora, Roy Williams) -3  $22,500 
13 CFP (Frank Beamer, Bobby Johnson)      -1  $20,000 
14 Pittsburgh (Pat Narduzzi, Chris Doleman) +1  $20,000 
 15 Clemson (Dabo Swinney, Steve Fuller)    +2 $20,000 
Long Drive (Coach Division) Kirby Smart, Georgia 261 yards $5,000
Long Drive (Celebrity Division) Jon Barry, Georgia Tech  288 yards $5,000
Closest to the Pin (Coach Division)   Tommy Tuberville, Cincinnati  29’7″ $5,000
Closest to the Pin (Celebrity Division) David Dukes, Georgia     4’7″ $5,000

Team winnings will be split evenly between endowed scholarships at the universities and foundations or charities of the coach’s choice. The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge is the country’s premier head coach and celebrity charity golf event featuring NCAA head coaches and former athletes and celebrities from the same school competing against their rivals for a share of a $630,000 scholarship purse.

In addition to the $630,000 charity and scholarship purse, another $170,000 was generated for charitable organizations bringing the 2017 total to $800,000 in charitable giving. Since its creation in 2007, the event has contributed a total of $6.8 million in scholarship and charity, helping make the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl college football’s most charitable bowl game.

Champions of the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge include: 

2017 Ole Miss (Hugh Freeze / Wesley Walls)  -11 2 strokes
2016 Ole Miss (Hugh Freeze / Wesley Walls)  -11 2 strokes
2015 Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson / Jon Barry) -9 1 (playoff) 
2014 Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson / Jon Barry)  -13 4 strokes 
2013 Miami (Al Golden / Gino Torretta)  -11 1 stroke
2012 Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson / Jon Barry) -10 1 stroke 
2011 Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson / Jon Barry)  -11 3 strokes 
2010 Florida State (Jimbo Fisher / Terrell Buckley)  -7 1 stroke 
2009 South Carolina (Steve Spurrier / Sterling Sharpe)  -12 1 (playoff)
2008 South Carolina (Steve Spurrier / Sterling Sharpe)  -12 5 strokes
2007 Virginia Tech (Frank Beamer / Dell Curry)  -10 1 stroke