Matt Luke and Wesley Walls win four-peat; Bobby Johnson and Tom O’Brien take home Legends Tournament title

Greensboro, Ga. (April 30, 2019) – Team Ole Miss carded nine birdies and two eagles to win its fourth consecutive Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge by two strokes today at the Reynolds Lake Oconee Resort outside Atlanta.

Head coach Matt Luke and celebrity partner Wesley Walls teamed up to finish at 13-under par to win the $100,000 first-place prize. Team Georgia finished second at 11-under par after closing the round with seven birdies on the back nine, while the teams from Clemson, Georgia Tech, North Carolina and Ohio State tied for third at 9-under.

“I think coming down the stretch last year, we had a little cushion. We got behind this back nine. I think Georgia was up there, so there was a little bit more pressure coming in having to hit a good shot,” said Ole Miss head coach Matt Luke. “It’s been a day of good friends and good times.”

“Matt can putt, I can tell you that. He made a lot of crucial and critical putts,” said former Ole Miss tight end Wesley Walls. “What a great job Chick-fil-A and Peach Bowl, Inc. do with putting on this golf tournament. It’s awesome and a lot of good comes out of it.”

The Ole Miss victory marks the first time in the event’s history where a team has won the tournament in four consecutive years. Ole Miss is now tied with Georgia Tech for the most wins in the tournament’s history with four all-time victories.

The first-place prize money will be split between an endowed scholarship at Ole Miss and the Fellowship of Christian Athletes chapter at the university.

“We want to congratulate Matt and Wesley on their unprecedented four-peat,” said Gary Stokan, Peach Bowl, Inc. CEO & president. “We set a record this week with the amount we raised for charity thanks to so many of the sport’s top coaches who took time to play golf for a noble cause.”

Final results from the 2019 Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge including total charity and scholarship winnings:

1 Ole Miss (Matt Luke, Wesley Walls) -13 $100,000
2 Georgia (Kirby Smart, David Dukes) -11 $90,000
3 (T) Clemson (Dabo Swinney, Bill Spiers) -9 $65,000
3 (T) Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson, Jon Barry) -9 $65,000
3 (T) North Carolina (Mack Brown, Roy Williams) -9 $65,000
3(T) Ohio State (Urban Meyer, Jeff Logan) -9 $65,000
7 (T) Auburn (Gus Malzahn, Tim Hudson) -8 $35,000
7 (T) Pittsburgh (Pat Narduzzi, John Congemi) -8 $35,000
9 (T) Florida (Dan Mullen, Judd Davis) -7 $28,300
9 (T) NC State (Dave Doeren, Terry Harvey) -7  $28,300
9 (T) UConn (Randy Edsall, Dan Orlovsky) -7 $28,300
12 Notre Dame (Brian Kelly, Jimmy Dunne) -5 $25,100
Long Drive (Coach Division) Matt Luke, Ole Miss 275 yards $5,000
Long Drive (Celebrity Division) Bill Spiers, Clemson 292 yards $5,000
Closest to the Pin (Coach Division) Gus Malzahn, Auburn 16″7′ $5,000
Closest to the Pin (Celebrity Division) Bill Spiers, Clemson 8′ $5,000

Team winnings will be split evenly between endowed scholarships at the universities and foundations or charities of the coach’s choice. The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge is the country’s premier head coach and celebrity charity golf event featuring NCAA head coaches and former athletes and celebrities from the same school competing against their rivals for a share of a $650,000 scholarship purse.

In addition to the $650,000 charity and scholarship purse, another $181,280 was generated for charitable organizations bringing the 2019 total to $831,280 in charitable giving. Since its creation in 2007, the event has contributed a total of $8.4 million in scholarship and charity, helping make the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl college football’s most charitable bowl game.

Past Champions:

2019 Ole Miss (Matt Luke / Wesley Walls) -13 2 strokes
2018 Ole Miss (Matt Luke / Wesley Walls) -11 1 stroke
2017 Ole Miss (Hugh Freeze / Wesley Walls) -11 2 strokes
2016 Ole Miss (Hugh Freeze / Wesley Walls) -11 2 strokes
2015 Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson / Jon Barry) -9 1 (playoff)
2014 Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson / Jon Barry) -13 4 strokes
2013 Miami (Al Golden / Gino Torretta) -11 1 stroke
2012 Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson / Jon Barry) -10 1 stroke
2011 Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson / Jon Barry) -11 3 strokes
2010 Florida State (Jimbo Fisher / Terrell Buckley) -7 1 stroke
2009 South Carolina (Steve Spurrier / Sterling Sharpe) -12 1 (playoff)
2008 South Carolina (Steve Spurrier / Sterling Sharpe) -12 5 strokes
2007 Virginia Tech (Frank Beamer / Dell Curry) -10 1 stroke

Legends Tournament Results:

Former Vanderbilt head coach and CFP Selection Committee member Bobby Johnson partnered with former Boston College and NC State head coach Tom O’Brien to win the second annual Legends Tournament at this year’s Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge.  The pair carded three eagles to finish at five-under par and win the event by one stroke over the second-place team of Jim Grobe and Tommy Tuberville.

The Legends Tournament, consisted of eight former coaches vying for a share of a $50,000 purse that will go toward their selected charities.

Bobby Johnson and Tom O’Brien’s winnings will be split between Sea Island Habitat for Humanity and U.S.M.C. Toys for Tots.

1 Bobby Johnson/Tom O’Brien -5 $20,000
2 Jim Grobe/Tommy Tuberville -4 $15,000
3 Chan Gailey/Steve Spurrier -3 $10,000
4 Rick Neuheisel/Ralph Friedgen -1 $5,000

Past Legends Champions:

2019 Bobby Johnso, Tom O’Brien -5 1 stroke
2018 Mack Brown, Jim Grobe -10 1 stroke

The 2019 Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl main competition and Legends field included an impressive roster of college football greats that featured six Dodd Trophy winners, three of the last five College Football Playoff National Championship winning coaches and two of the four head coaches who led their teams to last season’s College Football Playoff. In total, this year’s field won seven national championships, 37 FBS conference championships and has 1,345 career wins.